Why do you keep the things you do?

After going through some of Nonnie’s stuff, I decided that I just can’t do that to my kids. After I’m gone, I don’t want them to find crap that I haven’t looked at in 30 years. How do I know what they will see or, worse yet, what they might imagine! So I’ve started clearing out and throwing away stuff and I started in my bath area. I am amazed at what I have been finding. A dead flower. A mood ring. Puka shell necklaces and matching dangling earrings that go almost all the way to my shoulder.

Ok, the flower I can understand. The white rose was given to me by my step-daughter to wear at her wedding. That one has sentimental value to me but the other jewelry? Shoot, you’d think I’d never gotten out of the 70’s. Right next to them was a papier-mâché, hot pink flower pin that was about 3 inches in diameter. That was straight from the 60’s and I will NEVER wear that hideous thing again. But it still looks like new. I can’t just throw it away, can I? Can I???

Seriously, what do you use cotton balls for? I’ve used them for ear aches but I just don’t have that many ear aches at my age. I have a whole huge bag of cotton balls and a bag of cotton squares, which I use all the time. I guess I could put the cotton balls in my crafting area and use them for stuffing.

Oh, my, goodness! There is the barrette I got in Dubai (gotta keep that even if it does look cheap and gaudy) and look at those boxes of perm rollers. Goodness, I haven’t seen those in years! And I haven’t used any of those three hot curler sets in forever. There’s a hair clip with a black and white cow print bandana bunched up in it. Well, that could be cute with the right outfit. I used to wear it when I used that Topsy Tail … never mind. I did find 4 Topsy Tails, 2 large and 2 small, and no, I didn’t throw those away. I might need them for something, you know?

I’m not done in the bath area just yet but I’ve accomplished quite a lot today. Now I just have to find a place for all those little things that don’t GO in my bath area. Why would I need 3 screws and 7 nails of different sizes in there? Or 4 shoe horns from various hotels? I’ve never used a shoe horn in my life. Or 4 tiny Japanese bowls that came from my mother-in-law? They’re too pretty to use and don’t go with anything else in here. Honestly, I don’t even like them but they are from Ed’s mother. I can’t just throw them away. I’ll find a place in Drake’s old room, I guess. That’s where everything else that doesn’t have a home ends up anyway.

3 responses to “Why do you keep the things you do?

  1. You are so right. We all have to much stuff and I am sure our kids will not want the things we thought were important to us. I have lot of things back to my school days which meant something to me such as collecting milk weed pods during the war for parachutes. Sure enjoying reading your coments and relating to them.

    • Nancy, just because they are important to us doesn’t mean they are not important to our kids though. My step-daughter Kim will treasure the white rose and that I kept it for all these years hanging on my wall.

      I had never heard of collecting milkweed pods during WWII and now I’m going to have to go look it up. Leave a note with the pods as to why you kept them. That’s the main problem I have with Nonnie’s stuff. I don’t know why she kept a lot of things. If I knew, they might also be important to me. Now I’ll never know.

      And there could be a WWII museum who would love to have the pods to add to a display of things that were collected during the war. Yeah, you could get milkweek pods nowadays but it wouldn’t be the same to school children who visit the exhibit if they knew those pods were actually picked during the war. What a treasure those would be!

  2. When my mom died – we packed up their stuff and brought it into my house. We lived with boxes for many years then Amy and I went through it all and divided it in 2. Still a lot of boxes. My mom cherished some of these antiques (she collected and some were from Germany and Poland) – I’ve kept the items that I really like and remember as a kid but the other stuff – we sold on Ebay, donated, called relatives and dispursed some stuff to them – everyone wanted something to remember Gma Dolly and Gpa Marty.

    You will spend a crazy amount of time going through every single item… one by one and trying to think “what in the world” – but you also have to remember that the mindset was a lot different back then during the war when money and jobs were scarse (wow! that’s what we have now!) and back in that generation they saved a lot that we would have discarded.

    John’s Grandmother’s house was another kick. Very small house up in Des Moines, the basement was the size of the house and in the very back there was a door that was nailed shut. The door led to an area under the front porch. John pulled the nails out and opened the door and you could hear harps … it was like stepping back to WWII. Electronics in the original boxes never removed or used, McCoy planters in the original boxes, Bootlegged Whiskey (YECH – yeah we tried it – YECH), tools, it went on and on.

    That stuff was packed up and brought back to our house too – but didn’t sell anything on Ebay and no one else (very small family) is around to give it to. Thus the mess still in the garage 18 years after the stuff was unloaded. The crap gets to stay in the dry garage but our cars get to stay outside in the weather.

    The TV shows Hoarders and Clean House stay on the air because of us :o)