Bless Eddie Conrad! part 4

Another decision to make:  Do we take the tour of the Weltenburg Monastery, the oldest monastery in Bavaria or relax on board all morning?  The Abbey brewery MAY be the oldest monastery brewery in the world, although the Weihenstephan Abbey disputes this title, and it’s been in operation since 1050.  Yes, this probably would be very interesting.  But then, it is on to Regensburg and another walking tour.  Ok, I can tell, I will definitely need to hit the treadmill before we go or, by this time, I will be stuck on a lounge chair on the deck really hoping my legs stop hurting before dinner!  In that case, so much for the Monastery tour!  Maybe I can borrow a BMW from the Regensburg plant instead of walking?  Come on!  They make about 1000 vehicles per day; would they really miss one???  Of course, it would be a little difficult touching ancient Roman stones and the medieval Stone Bridge.  Sigh.  Ok, treadmill, here I come.

I really want to save my legs for the next day though.  We can either do a walking tour of Passau, Germany, OR an excursion to Cesky Krumlov in the Czech Republic.  I really think by then, I would probably enjoy seeing something besides Germany and I just can’t pass up seeing the Czech Republic, can I?  Hmmm, Passau with three former concentration camps OR Cesky Krumlov, which dates from the 14th through 17th centuries?  Help!  Suggestions?

Sometime overnight, I think we pass into Austria and get to see that beautiful scenery.  I know I will not hear The Sound of Music in the background but it will be in my mind all day.  During the visit to Durnstein, Austria, we will be treated to a private organ concert at the Durnstein church and yet another wine-tasting opportunity.  See?  This stop includes something for both of us!  It may be a small town on the Danube but it’s one of the most visited tourist destinations in the Wachau region of Austria and a well-known wine growing area.

We will spend the next two days in Vienna, the largest city in Austria, I think, and it is a major cultural, economic, and political center.  Yes, there is another city tour and we get to see the National Library, which was started in the late 1300’s, but the afternoon is free.  And there is so much to see here!  There are the Vienna Boys’ Choir, various Beethoven sites, Mozart sites, the U.N. headquarters, the statue of Athena in front of the Austrian Parliament, the imperial jewels of the Habsburg dynasty, and lots of museums for Ed to choose from, including the Vienna Clock Museum.  I think Nonnie would’ve really enjoyed seeing the Lipizzaner horses and the spanische Hofreitschule so I think I’m going to see if I can find that while we have the free time.

Ah, Vienna.  The first day there won’t be over until we see Heurigen Wolff.  More on that tomorrow, but it will involve music, wine, locals and history.  How can you beat that combination?

Comments are closed.