Earthquake?

Did you feel it yesterday?  A slight tremor at 9:06 am, October 13th?  An unusually unsteady feeling?  I did.  At first, I thought we waited just a little too long to get the foundation fixed under our house and it was going to slide down the hill, with me sitting at the computer terminal.  Then I thought maybe I was imagining it, at least until I heard the dogs barking.  Finally, I knew it was an earthquake but I couldn’t quite believe that it was happening in North Texas.

Drake and I had been in an earthquake years ago while I was in California working on a project.  If I remember correctly, it was a 5 point something, which was pretty impressive to 2 Texans in a small multi-story hotel.  Drake was sitting on the bed watching TV and I was getting ready to go to work.  I stopped, turned toward Drake, and asked if he knew what it was.  With huge eyes, he questioned, “Earthquake?”  I’m glad it turned out to be nothing more than what it was because we did everything wrong!  I immediately sat down on the bed next to Drake and we watched the armoire containing the TV walk from side to side and realized why the hotel had bolted all of the furniture either to the floor or the wall.  We kind of jiggled on the mattress for a few minutes and waited for it to be over.  We were calm and thankfully it didn’t last a long time.  As soon as it was over, my local co-workers called to see if we were alright and to make sure we weren’t scared.  I wasn’t scared and I really don’t think Drake was either.  I think we were startled more than anything.  Of course, then we had to jump on the phone to call home so that when they heard the news, they knew we were okay and wouldn’t worry.

Yesterday brought back memories of that time for me, watching Drake’s face as it dawned on him what was going on.  I was very glad that we were not at the high-rise office, feeling the whole building sway back and forth.  I’m not sure either of us would’ve been as calm in a high-rise built to sway instead of break during an earthquake!  I also remember feeling that special bond with Drake that we had survived an earthquake in Los Angeles, California, and could tell everyone in Texas what it felt like.

The earthquake yesterday initially was reported as a 4.3 magnitude by the U.S. Geological Survey but the Oklahoma Geological Survey upgraded the rating to magnitude 5.1, the second-strongest earthquake reported in their state history.  I think the only reason I felt it was because I was sitting still in an office chair.  Ed was getting dressed and moving around and he didn’t know anything about it.  That should tell you how slight the tremor was around here.  Like most things in small-town Texas, if you blink you missed it.  I’m glad I didn’t blink.

Comments are closed.