Go, Texas!!!

What a sports week!!!  Rangers.  Cowboys.   Texans.  Stars.  Mavs.  Longhorns.  Oh, wait.  The Cowboys stink this year but the others are looking good, especially the Texas Rangers!!!  Woo-hoo!!!  Yes, Texas is a sports-dominated state.  I don’t really watch anything but baseball but Ed watches da Boys all the time so I kinda keep up with ‘em.  With a season record of 1-4 so far, I’m not paying much attention so far.  I know, I know, I’m a fickle fan, but I just can’t get excited when they lose to an aging quarterback primarily due to penalties!  So…..

Let’s talk Texas Rangers!  Now that’s my game and this year they are looking good.  Yeah, they lost the first one to the dreaded Yankees but they won the second one in a landslide, 7-2.  This is not only the first post-season victory at home in 50 seasons, this is the farthest we’ve ever gotten in the post-season and the fans are going wild around here.  Everywhere you look, you see red or blue t-shirts with the Claw and Antler logo.  What the heck is that, you say???  Let me explain.

When a player does something really well during a game, the players give each other the Claw, a long-distance high-five.  This was really first seen in the Minor Leagues and Nelson Cruz brought it to the Rangers and EVERYONE has adopted it.

When a player does something really well during a game that requires him to utilize his speed, the players give him the Antlers, hands waving up by your head.  Why and how we got this one, I don’t know but it seems to me that the Claw could be used for both instances.  On the other hand, I’m not about to be the only fan doing a Claw when everyone else is giving them the Antlers!  Geez, I gotta LOOK like I know what the players are doing, don’t I?

Anyway, tonight the Giants and Phillies are playing.  I don’t know anything about either one of those teams but since the Giants took the first game, I’m hoping the Phillies take the second.  If nothing else, it would make the series much more interesting.  On the other hand, the Phillies are ranked 12th overall in Batting Average and the Giants are 15th.  Since the Rangers are ranked 1st overall and the Yankees 8th, I’m not sure it matters much which one wins.  hehehe

Tomorrow night, don’t call me because I will NOT be answering the phone after 7 pm Central.  I will be watching my Rangers and I will be practicing the Claw and Antlers at home.  I just hope the Yankees quit walking Josh Hamilton intentionally so he can get some runs.  That should show how the Yankees fear his bat and that’s a good thing!

Comments are closed.