Superstition

Superstition is a belief that is NOT based on reason or knowledge.  Yes, that just about describes what I was feeling today during the Texas Ranger-New York Yankee playoff game.  Superstition!!! 

The game started off badly for the Rangers and didn’t get much better throughout the entire game.  It was just an off day for C.J. Wilson, our pitcher.  I don’t know if the rest of the team was just tired, as an old friend of mine suggested, or if they were mentally drained or if they were just reacting to how the pitcher was doing.  Whatever it was, today just didn’t work for them.

When I got up and went to the kitchen to get some iced tea, the Rangers got a run.  Woo-hoo!  Later, when I went to the kitchen again while the Yankees were batting, the Yankees got a run.  Booo hisss!  Superstition reared its head and I reacted, instead of logically reminding myself that the Yankees had already gotten quite a few runs while I was sitting there watching the game.  This was not based on logical reasoning.  Yep, superstition.  I left the room, my stomach in knots.  I literally could not watch the rest of the game but that had NOTHING to do with superstition.

The Rangers have won 3 games and the Yankees 2.  We only have to win one more game and we go to the World Series.  That is a major responsibility laid on the shoulders of these young men, none of which have been to the World Series before. Do we expect them to perform perfectly during every game, with nerves of steel and with total confidence in themselves?  Yes, we do.  Yes, I do.  I know better though.  I am usually so logical in my thinking.  Today, I was emotional and not logical at all.  I couldn’t watch the train wreck that I felt was coming to my team.

Do I still have faith in the Texas Rangers, the players, coaches and owners?  Of course, I do.  Will I watch the next game on Friday night?  Of course, I will.  Will I be nervous?  YES!!!  I have such pride in this team that I want them to do well during every game and the odds are against that, I know.  But I also know that they will bounce back and I intend to be watching when they do.

Yes, Gracie, I will be gloating when they do bounce back!  You just can’t NOT gloat whenever they beat the dratted Yankees!  GO, RANGERS!!!!!  ONE MORE WIN!!!!!

Comments are closed.