Thyroid and WHAT???

I know it’s been a while since I’ve written but it has been totally spastic here lately!

A few years ago, I decided that our oldest Sheltie, Stephi, needed a haircut.  It was summer.  It was hot.  I cut her hair short, thinking that she would be a little cooler with only the undercoat and not all that extra, long hair weighing her down.  Well, it has never grown back in like it used to be.  Every time that Ed looks at her, he frowns and then glares at me.  “I’ll never forgive you for what you did to Stephi,” he usually mutters.  Yeah, bless her heart, she does look pretty ratty, I have to admit.

Recently, she has been getting tumors on her upper chest that grow and grow and finally burst.  The vet cleans them out and then, usually within a few weeks, we will see another one coming up.  Where they have appeared, the hair doesn’t grow back very well so, when she’s walking toward you, there is long hair with spots of very short hair, which just looks strange, to say the least.

The vet wanted to do a blood workup on her back when Nonnie was ill but I just couldn’t handle Nonnie and Stephi at the same time so I put it off.  This week, they did that blood workup and she has thyroid problems.  We are now giving her half a pill twice a day to help with that problem.  They are also testing her for Addison’s disease.  If that is also a problem, then she will need monthly injections. 

With luck, the pills and injections will give her back her beautiful coat of hair, along with her strength and jaunty step.  She’ll still be 14 years old and deaf, but she will feel much better.  For that, I am thrilled.

That’s just one thing that’s been going on.  I’ll write more later.

Comments are closed.