Getting Away During Thanksgiving

I have traveled most of my adult life but it’s usually been on airplanes.  I’ve always been in a hurry to get somewhere or to get home, it seems.  This year, I just didn’t want to stay home during the Thanksgiving holiday, my first without Nonnie, so I started looking for a totally different way to travel.  I’ve been in commuter trains, jet planes, prop planes, cars, SUVs, trucks, boats, ferries, river barges, and even on a horse years ago.  But I’ve never been on a cruise ship or an overnight sleeper car on a train .  Ed has taken a cruise so a sleeper car would be something new for both Ed and me.  You know, a sleeper car with the bunk bed that pulls down, just like in old movies?   

So where to go? Hmmm.   Amtrak has sleeper cars and the Texas Eagle runs all the way from San Antonio to Chicago.  Twenty-three and a half hours on a train from Fort Worth to Chicago?  That would work.  How fun and how peaceful could you get?  No TV.  No Internet.  Someone else doing the cooking and serving and cleaning up.  That’s it!  Let’s go! 

It was supposed to get cold over the holiday, so I decided to board the dogs at the American Pet Spa and Resort (http://americanpetspa.com/).  Boy, does sounds ostentatious, doesn’t it?  It looks like a replica of an Old West town and the people are great.  Not only that, but they also have an animal rescue area, Ranch Hand Rescue (http://ranchhandrescue.org/), adjacent to the pet boarding area so I feel like I’m helping out both entities by boarding the girls there.  We found out later that all of the girls felt differently about the whole experience.  They were boarded in the same kennel so they did have each other to play with but this was their first time away from home for an extended time.  As we expected, SoLow was scared to be left and Stephi just took it all in stride.  Sam just wouldn’t walk away from us to go to the kennel so I had to walk back there with her.  Once she saw the other 2, she was fine.

Now, I wasn’t about to take the goats or the turtle Fred anywhere though.  We again had Amanda from our vet’s office, Chisholm Oaks Vet (http://www.yelp.com/biz/chisholm-oaks-veterinary-argyle), stop by and feed them daily so they were well taken care of in our absence.  In fact, I don’t know that Bob, Willow or Fred even realized we were gone and that is a good thing!  We also informed our vet that if the kennel had problems with any of the girls, they would call the vet before they would even call me.  This vet is fabulous!  I trust them implicitly to take care of my girls in the best way they can.

…to be continued

2 responses to “Getting Away During Thanksgiving

  1. Can’t wait to read more about your trip and your girls stay at the Resort

  2. I saw Jennifer’s excited and breath-taking response…that girl needs to get a life! (Love you, Jennifer!)