I’m So Excited! I Can’t Sleep!

“So do you think that you will have more fun at lunch if you get no sleep tonight?”

“I’M SO EXCITED!  I CAN’T SLEEP!”

Friday night, I couldn’t go to sleep.  The Good Ol’ Girls Club was having their first meeting on Saturday for lunch and I couldn’t wait.  I wasn’t the only one, either.  All of us were excited to be doing something just for us. 

It is absolutely amazing what the three of us have in common.  We are all Leo’s.  We all wear glasses.  We all love coffee.  And that’s just the beginning.  Of course, we all have differences also but that just makes our friendship more interesting.

We arrived at Abuelo’s around noon.  We all started with coffee and then with margarita’s (all different styles), lunch, and finished with Christmas presents.  We just couldn’t stop talking.  It was almost like we had saved up years of conversation.  Even Christmas presents had to take a backseat to us getting to know each other better.  Some things were funny, some sad, some emotional, and some absolutely hilarious, but all were interesting.

For me, it was a very special bonding with two very special people in my life; my sister and the mother of two of my kids. Hahaha.  It does sound funny when you say it that way but it is very true.  Jen became my best friend, my sister, and my neighbor in 1980.  Geez, has it really been that long ago???  Donni is my husband’s ex-wife and mother of Kim and Lee.  I have Drake and I love him dearly but I’ve always felt that I have 3 kids.  I may not have given birth to 2 of them, but they are mine just the same.  That was solidified, at least for me, Saturday when Donni said one of them was “your kid.”  No, children, I’m not saying which one, so don’t even ask! 

By the time we all were starting to get tired and not talking quite so much, it was almost 3:30 in the afternoon.  Abuelo’s was a great meeting place; the waiter never bugged us to leave or to order or to free up the table.  Because I had picked up Jen on the way to lunch, it was over 4 hours, I swear, of non-stop talking.  I wore out my vocal chords!!!  Seriously!  My voice was hoarse when I got home about 5:30.  No, it didn’t take me 2 hours to drive from Hurst to Argyle.  I couldn’t just drop Jen off when I got to her house.  I hadn’t seen Roger in quite a while so I had to go in and see Roger, along with their new house and their 2 little Maltese angels and, of course, talk some more.  Then Ed wanted to hear how much fun we had, so I talked even more when I got home. 

I haven’t talked this much in over a year and I really did need it.  I have turned into somewhat of a hermit and have lost my conversational skills this year.  I get distracted in the middle of a sentence and go off on a different tangent, which can be very distracting for everyone, but then I totally forget what I was saying, so I have difficulty getting my train of thought going again.  I think they call that a “senior moment.”  Hmmm.  I have a lot of those nowadays.

Yeah, I’d better keep my mouth shut today, just to let the voice rest up for next week.  I don’t think that will be a problem because I seem to be spending a lot of time just thinking about yesterday and smiling.  Saturday was a very good day and I look forward to many more, at least once a month, when I can practice my conversation skills with 2 people I love dearly…my best friends.

Next month, assuming the weather is good, we’ll meet in Southlake.  I’m so excited!  I can’t wait!!!

One response to “I’m So Excited! I Can’t Sleep!

  1. I had so much fun Saturday with my best friends, laughing, talking, and laughing some more, (and considering I could not sleep Friday night from excitement) that all I did Sunday- was rest – and think about the fun we had. Looking forward to out next Good Ol’ Girls Club meeting.