Goals

It’s been a long time since I’ve written and I feel SO guilty!  No, I haven’t been that busy.  No, I haven’t been traveling.  I thoroughly enjoyed being snowed in and I have gotten lazy.  Yes, LAZY! 

Actually, I have had no goals and that’s the problem.  I have lived with goals throughout my life.  I have none now.  I have all the time in the world to do what I want to do.  And you know what?  It’s boring!  I look around the house and I see all the things that I want to get done but do I get up and go do them?  Hell, no!  I have been keeping up with what has been going on in the national news but I have not been keeping up with what has been going on in my own city, my own house.  That’s just wrong.

Well, this week, I have looked around the house and I do NOT like what I see.  No, I’m still not in a hurry to get anything done but I see what needs to get done now.   I feel a little overwhelmed, to say the least.

We had to have the foundation leveled and the front deck is partially gone, which is fine since it was rotted and falling down anyway.  I can’t do anything about that yet.

Because our waterbed broke and we had to have the foundation leveled, we had moved everything in the bedroom out into the dining room, the atrium, the living room; everywhere except the bedroom!  Most of it was still sitting there, just waiting to be reviewed.  Reviewed???  Yes, reviewed!  Just because it started out in the bedroom, that didn’t mean it HAD to be returned to the bedroom.  Some of it has gone to Goodwill.  Some of it was thrown away.  Only part of it was returned.  This has actually been a great exercise for both Ed and me.  Some of that stuff was 37 years old, some was broken, and some, neither one of us could remember where it came from and we never used it.  Yet some of it had sentimental value.

I cleaned out my closet a while back.  That was fun.  Now it is Ed’s turn.  Going back through those clothes and getting rid of things I don’t like, I’ll never wear again, that was like taking a weight off of my shoulders.  I’m not sure why but I really like not having so many choices of things to wear.  Used to, I had casual clothes, work office clothes, traveling clothes, and nice clothes.  These groupings each had their own section in my closet and my closet isn’t big enough for all of that!  Nowadays, I have casual clothes and nice clothes, clothes that fit.  I wish I could explain how free that one action made me feel.  I accomplished something AND got rid of “stuff” I didn’t need. 

Now I’m looking at the rest of the house through the same eyes.  Goodwill is going to hate seeing me in the near future!  I’m ready to get started.

Comments are closed.