A Busy Week

What a week!  I went back to the dentist to get the old fillings on the left side of my mouth fixed.  I didn’t realize just how much they could deaden everything inside your mouth!  The inside of my cheek, my gums, and my tongue were useless for hours afterwards.  What I didn’t realize until that night was that I had bitten the heck out of my tongue and the inside of my cheek.  The cheek is now fine but my tongue is STILL hurting!  I know I talk a lot but I never realized just how much you actually move your tongue when you speak, much less sing.  Ouch!

The Meadows Building should now have a new A/C-Heat unit.  I’m glad the Jurassic-era attic unit is gone.  That should really help the electric bill and is much easier to get to in order to fix it.  The old one had a panel on the top of the unit and you just couldn’t get to it to work on it.  The new one has a side panel, which will please Best Air workers when they have to service it!

Friday, we drove down to Waco to have lunch with Ed’s cousins, Charlie and Irma.  What a joy to spend time just talking with them!  Now that I’m home, I am finding more and more people who I want to see on a regular basis and Charlie and Irma are 2 of them.  Whereas I used to use my calendar to schedule work meetings, now I use my calendar to schedule a monthly get-together with friends and family. 

I’m really loving this life!  Being a landlord is not as overwhelming as I thought it would be.  I’m not missing the traveling work-life like I thought I would.  My goals may not be as important to others as they used to be, but I am now thinking more about MY goals, rather than professional goals.  After all these years, I’m more comfortable stating how I feel about things and what I believe in.  I figure that if you don’t like it, you can go elsewhere, but let’s discuss it before you move on.  I’d like to understand how you feel and would like to explain why I feel the way I do, but if you still are uncomfortable with how open and blunt I can be, I sure hope you have a good life without me!

I am not only singing now, I’m actively looking for new songs to sing and my vocal range is expanding, which means that I can now sing a wider selection of songs.  I just have to get back into the karaoke swing and maybe I’ll one day do what Drake always said I should.  Ever since Star Search, he’s wanted me to compete.  Well, maybe America’s Got Talent one day, but probably only if Drake continues to push.  I am not a perfectionist but I keep thinking that there is so much more to learn and that I can always be better with a little more work and, yes, that I’m not good enough to win it all.  I know, I know.  I should just enjoy the experience and not worry about winning but when it comes to singing, I don’t want to just compete.  I want to WIN!

Which is another thing I have found out about myself.  I’m very competitive … just ask my bingo buddies!  It’s not enough to just play and have fun with my friends.  I have to find someone in the game to compete with.  To me, the companionship combined with the competition is a major blast!

Yes, this year has been quite an eye-opener for me.  In a lot of ways, I’ve blossomed but it has been a long row to hoe.  What a week!  What a journey!  What fun!

One response to “A Busy Week

  1. I agree with Drake – you should compete! You have always loved to sing – and you are good at it. We can all be better at what we do – but I think the the only way to get there is the competition. Why not follow your dreams – you never know whey they may lead.