Spring Cleaning?

OMG!  I’ve been Spring Cleaning!  Why didn’t someone tell me that’s what I was doing!!! Argghhhhh!!!  It all started with my closet, moved to the dining room,  and has now progressed to the kitchen. 

I’ve cleaned out the food in the pantry.  There is other “stuff” in there and I’ll go through that soon but at least the food is now organized.  Yes, I now know that we have 2 cans of spinach (yuck!), 4 large boxes of instant white rice, and lots of snacks.  I think this means stocking up on certain items and sharing some items with Drake when he moves into Nonnie’s house.

I’ve cleaned out the spice cabinet and I was right; I found one item in there from 1981.   1 9 8 1 ? ? ?  Yeah, that was before Drake was born and we lived in Denton back then, so I obviously brought this specifically to our new house in Argyle.  What do you use Allspice for anyway???  Whatever you use it for, we obviously don’t cook it at home. 

My spice cabinet is now almost empty.  How do you end up with 3 small bottles of garlic powder, all partially used, and 2 huge bottles, both unopened?  That was just the garlic powder.  I found almost the same thing for cinnamon.  We obviously are blind when searching the spice cabinet and it’s easier to replace than to really search for something.

I did find out that most spices really don’t go bad so those little Sell By dates don’t mean much, in most cases.  Most spices just lose their taste and smell over time so the best way to check all of those little bottles is to smell them.  Have you ever tried to go through your spice cabinet smelling your spices to see how aromatic they are?  The common rule is: if they smell like cardboard, they will taste like cardboard.  That means that I opened and smelled every bottle, box, and tin in my cabinet.  After a while, I think they all start to smell the same!

Where did all the spicy spices go?  The Cajun spices Nonnie and I brought back from New Orleans?  The powdered jalapeno peppers?  The can of Greek spices?  Oh, yeah.  I remember.  Drake took them to his apartment.  He’s the cook of the family.  He loves learning how to put spices together and experimenting.  He has cooked the most incredible stuff for us.   Man, do I look forward to him getting back home and we’ll have an organized kitchen ready for him when he does. 

But I refuse to call it Spring Cleaning.  If you keep it organized all year long, you don’t need to do Spring Cleaning, right?  At this rate, I just may turn into a … ahem … housewife.  Geez, I can’t believe I just said that!!!  The next thing you know, I’ll be planning meals, cleaning the tub, sweeping the back porch.  Nawww, I’ll never get that bad off!  Surely not.  

I did notice though that there’s a lot of crap under the sinks in the guest bathroom.  Where did that all come from, I wonder?  It won’t take but a few minutes just to look through it.  (big sigh)  Ok, never mind.  Just sit down and watch the news.  The guest bathroom can wait.  It’ll still be there in the morning.  😀

Comments are closed.