My New Country Song

I have decided to write a country song. I don’t think I ever really believed the old songs that talked about the songwriter’s dog dying, the truck being stolen, the house burning down, and the spouse leaving ‘em. I mean, really??? If all that happened to me, I don’t think I would be writing a song about it!

Well, on the other hand, maybe I’ve got my own song to write this week. It might go something like this:

My son’s mad at the world and he won’t call.

Hubby’s been using me for a walking cane, so he won’t fall.

My old dawg quit eatin’ and then she passed.

What a week this has been! Geez, how long can it last?

 

When I stopped by Mom’s house, I set off the alarm.

The Meadows Building is costing a leg and arm.

Dog Sam has a danged infection; allergies are just that way.

Goat Bob likes to head-butt me and that’s on a good day!

 

Friday afternoon, to surgery Hubby will go

To fix his pain in the neck … and mine too, you know?

Termites have invaded Mom’s storage barn and garage.

What more can go wrong? Surely, it’s all been a mirage!

Yee-haw!!!

2 responses to “My New Country Song

  1. not a word about spam, crashing computers, and telephone solicitations???

    😉

  2. Awww, Steve! Those things are pretty constant! All the things in my song have happened since last Friday! But if my computer crashes now, I think I’ll just give up until next week. Sleep can be a wonderful thing at times! 🙂