Hi, my name is Kay. How is Ed?

Ed continues to improve, gaining strength back after the surgery.  Knowing how close he came to a possible stroke, I am amazed at the speed of his recovery.  Surgery on Friday afternoon,  release from the hospital after lunch on Saturday, breakfast at the Snooty Pig on Sunday morning with Misty, and back to regular activities on Monday, including driving a car.  In—credible!

This week has been very, very interesting and I have had a wonderful trip back through memory lane.  We are going to pave the parking lot down at the Meadows Building.  Since we need more parking, I would like to empty and then tear down the old, tin garage down there.  I got a storage building up at Nonnie’s house and we have been going through the old garage, moving stuff I want to keep to the storage building, throwing away the termite-ridden wood, recycling old metal, and dumping what is just totally un-salvageable.  My goodness, the things we have found!

An old recipe book of my great-aunt’s, plus her old reading glasses

  • A Ford Model A User Manual from the 1920’s
  • From the old Meadows Grocery,
    • Two old, wooden counters filled with drawers
    • two counter stools
    • lots of short platforms used as stepping stools and for displaying weekly specials
    • a metal Camel display rack
    • the old cash register
    • two glass display counters
    • A multitude of post office boxes, both metal and wood, and customer windows from the old post office in the Meadows Grocery building
    • The Admiral refrigerator, the kitchen table, dishes, bowls, and cooking utensils from the Meadows Grocery kitchen
    • A wooden trunk full of Nonnie’s toys, journals, and autograph books
    • An old cane rocker
    • Old hand-woven baskets
    • Old bed frames, mattresses & box springs, a dresser and chest of drawers, with personal items and sewing patterns still inside
    • Two old sewing machines
    • Various tables and chairs from various decades

There are just too many items to remember them all.  Unfortunately, most of the wooden items were falling apart, literally, from termite damage but some of the less-damaged items I am going to keep and see if they can be repaired.  I can’t believe all the heavy red oak counters are now mostly destroyed.  I am just thrilled to have the items worth keeping and will not mourn the ones we have to throw away.  I can at least protect the items we have left.

One fond memory, for which I am teased by older family and customers: 

I used to sit on the stools behind the check-out counter when I was a little girl and wait for customers.  I’m quite sure that Nonnie would put me there to contain me, but I don’t remember that part of it.  When a customer would enter, I would smile and say something like, “Hi, my name is Kay.  Who are you?”

I may have lost many things, but I still have those two stools.  And I think I have that precocious child in me still, even after all these years.

3 responses to “Hi, my name is Kay. How is Ed?

  1. Hi Kay-
    Just came across your website during a search for information about Eddie Conrad and the RiverBarge Explorer, my most favorite vacation. I traveled aboard RiverBarge Explorer several times, wrote about it often and really miss it; when I saw your blog, I thought perhaps you had information on what’s happening with it or Eddie Conrad – both sorely missed by those of us who so loved traveling the inland waterways – and especially appreciated what he created aboard his vessel. Thanks for any information-
    Kathy Witt

    • Hi, Kathy. It’s always nice to meet someone else who loved the riverbarge as much as my mother and I did. I haven’t heard anything about Eddie in a long time but he will be on a riverbarge trip in Europe in October, along the Danube and Rhine rivers, and I’ll be seeing him then. I think they had to sell the riverbarge and I haven’t heard what happened to it. If you’re interested, I’ll email you the information on the Europe trip.

  2. Would love to hear from you-