Uncoming Surgery

Yes, Ed’s surgery is scheduled for next Thursday at 8 am and it should only take a few hours.  They will “zap” some of the receptors in his heart so the flutter will stop.  They’ve done this surgery, called ablation, for years with very good results. 

But I must say that Ed still feels so much better nowadays even without the surgery.  Cleaning out the carotid was great for a while but it didn’t get rid of the dizziness and shortness of breath.  After reviewing all of the medications that Ed has been taking (removing 6, replacing 1, and adding 1), he has gotten consistently better daily.  He’s getting more exercise and his energy level is up.  The dizziness is gone (THANK YOU!!!).  The shortness of breath has gotten better but is still an issue at times.  Once the surgery is done, we will see what symptoms remain and a pacemaker is still a possibility, although the doctor thinks it will not be needed.

When the surgery was scheduled, I almost fainted though.  We’ve been helping get son Lee’s teeth fixed the past few months and we are down toward the end of this procedure.  When is his next appointment???  The same day as Ed’s surgery, of course.  What did you expect?  Since I just can’t be in two places at once, daughter Kim is coming to my rescue and handling Lee’s transportation.  It’s really good in a way, even though I know it’s a pain for Kim, because that means that both Kim and Lee will be in town to see Ed after surgery.  I’m not sure what that will mean for Ed that day, coming out of anesthesia, but it will mean a great deal to the rest of us. 

After thinking about it, I probably couldn’t keep Kim out of Denton anyway since her dad is going in for surgery and maybe we can spell each other throughout the day.  I’ve found there is nothing more boring than sitting in a hospital or doctor’s waiting room for hours on end!  Now, if only Drake could be here, that day would be absolutely perfect.  I can send pictures to him though, and Ed and I can go see him when Ed is back on his feet.

“Back on his feet.”  Hmmm.  I had gotten so used to Ed’s lack of energy that I’m just not ready for him to be very active again.  I know, I know.  I’ve gotten very lazy!  There is so much to do around my house, Nonnie’s house, the Meadows Building, finalizing Nonnie’s will.  It never seems to end, does it?  I think this is just a part of living, a job without a vacation!

Comments are closed.