One of Those Days

Have you ever just had one of those days?  Today has been that day for me.

It started off so well!  I had a massage first thing this morning and that really helped my entire demeanor.  As some of you know, I REALLY look forward to my massage and am so relaxed when I get home.  I guess that’s why the rest of the day seemed so much more frustrating than it usually would have.

One of my tenants griped at my maintenance man at the Meadows Building because, instead of doing what he asked, Ken told him to talk to me about it.  Ok, there are indeed sticker burrs in spots in the parking lot but I had already asked the landscapers to spray them.  Ken is my maintenance man, not my gardener, at the Meadows Building.  It’s not his job to spray and dig up stickers!  I was ready for bear by the time I got down to the Meadows Building.

Yes, I addressed the problem with the tenant.  I also said not to make any changes to the Meadows Building without running it by me first, such as painting and putting up signs, which was done earlier this summer.  Man, did I get ticked! 

I had seen my next door neighbor’s new pavement, right next door to the Meadows Building, and recently they striped it to make for more organized parking.  I can understand that but it wasn’t until today, when a long pickup truck was parked in-between the two buildings, that it became apparent how much room those parking spots were actually taking away from the Meadows Building parking. 

At one time, I hoped to pave my parking lot also but it was way out of my budget so I’ll have to wait a few years.  When they paved next door, they paved to the middle of the space between the buildings but they only own a few feet next to their building so they paved some of my lot.  Ok, no big deal.  I appreciate it.  Thank you.

I have been told that those parking spaces can be used for the Meadows Building also but there is no “Public Parking” sign on those spaces and, since they are now paved and mine are not, it looks like there is a distinct line of demarcation between the two buildings.  The customers for my building don’t seem to be parking there.  Am I being too picky here???

I have mulled and mulled for the past week about the $2k bill I got from my landscapers and, after today, I have decided that I just can’t afford this guy any more.  He takes care of the sprinkler systems at the Meadows Building and my mom’s house and plants seasonal flowers at both places.  But $2,000 worth???  I just can’t afford that, not in this fiscal environment.  After how today went, I was on a roll so I called and fired him.  I don’t know who I’ll get to take it over but I will negotiate a much better deal AND I will make sure that the new landscapers clear all expenses with me before I get billed!

Sitting here tonight and stewing, it finally dawned on me what was wrong.  I don’t like it when people do something and don’t give me fair warning when it concerns something that I own.  Tell me what you are going to do before you do it and I will probably be fine with it but give me the opportunity to do something better or different or more effective or just something MY way.  If you want to pave or paint or stripe or make 35 trips, tell me about it and ask my opinion.  Don’t just assume that I will be grateful!

One thing that I AM grateful for is having Ed’s health back.  I feel like he has been MIA for over a year and I am grateful to his doctors, his nurses, and the technology for helping us.  Yes, there are things he can’t do for a while but that will pass.  We are taking our barge trip for my mom and will sit on the river barge on the Danube with some of her friends and drink a toast to her, we will tell stories about her, and we will celebrate her life.  I know that she will be there also, enjoying everything but the scotch.  I’m glad that Ed will be there because he can enjoy that scotch for her.  I’m also grateful that Ed will be there so he can now enjoy all the walking tours with me and we can be totally exhausted after a fun day … together.

2 responses to “One of Those Days

  1. In some of this post, I could hear your Mother’s voice!! It sounds like you’re taking up the reins of running The Meadows building and all the other stuff that she did, and doing it much like she would. I’m sure she approves of how you’re handling things!

  2. She taught me well, as far as attitude goes, Linda! I’m sure she would complain that I haven’t reopened her Argyle-Argyll Museum yet and how could I let a tenant share her office with me, much less be thinking about moving her office and turning it over to a tenant! Yet that’s what I’m thinking about doing. We now have a hair dresser, a massage therapist, a woman who does nails, a place to shop, and a place to learn the history of Argyle. Who knows? In the future, it might just be a girly, salon-type, sweet-smelling place to spend a day? Yeah, I can imagine my mom’s reaction to that one! Hmmm, I wonder if I could fit in a dress shop???