Tales from the River – Traveling, Oct 14, 2011

Oh, my gosh! We were up over 24 hours getting from Budapest to DFW! Yes, we both took minor naps on the plane but, believe me, they weren’t long enough! And there are NO pictures taken today. You wouldn’t have wanted to see either one of us on this trip home!

Getting up at 6, our bags were packed and sitting outside our room by 7:45 a.m. Budapest time and we had eaten a good breakfast to start us on this very long day. The van taking us to the airport picked up a group of us at 8:15 and our flight left at 11:55 a.m. There was no First Class on this flight either and Business Class was booked solid. We were again sitting in the small section between Business and Coach. No leg room, no shoulder room, but the bathrooms and galley were close.

We flew from Budapest to JFK in NYC and landed about 3:30 p.m. NYC time.

We went through customs there at JFK. We had gotten a Global Entry card before we left on the trip and, man, was it great! If you travel abroad, get one! There was a long line but we were able to bypass it by using the Global Entry kiosk. We went ahead and filled out the custom’s forms, just in case the kiosk wasn’t working, but we didn’t need to use them. It was fabulous!

Unfortunately, we had to get our luggage and take it around the corner to have it put back in the plane. Thank you for porters!!! Ed was so grateful that he tipped extremely well and got a smile and a laugh in return. I think that is unusual in NYC.

We came out of customs but were on the outside of security so we did have to go through that whole process again. At one time, we figured we might need that whole 4 hour layover just to get to our next flight but we actually had time to hit the Admiral’s Club near security for a much needed drink and some sliders.

We then walked down to our gate 41 and, just for fun, hit the Admiral’s Club there at gate 42. When we left, we found that they had changed our gate to 37 but it wasn’t that far a walk, considering. At least we were in the same concourse.

We didn’t get the upgrade to First Class on the JKF to DFW leg either because there was only 1 seat available. At least we did have the exit row and we could stretch out on this flight. Three more hours on a plane with no sleep at all!

Our flight left at 7:50 and landed at DFW about 10:45 p.m. It was after midnight before we caught the shuttle to The Parking Spot, got our car, and drove home. Midnight here would be 7 a.m. in Budapest tomorrow! We’d been up, at that point, for 25 hours and, of course, once you get home, you have to love on the dogs a while and get settled in and relaxed enough to go to sleep. I think I finally went to bed about 3 a.m.

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, the wonderful food, and making new friends, and I think Nonnie would’ve loved it too. Ed used to tease her about taking river barge trips but I now think he has been converted to this mode of travel! There was a lot of free time where we could go exploring on our own and we learned a lot about the many places we visited. Some of those places we never would’ve seen on our own and definitely wouldn’t have understood their history.

Yes, sometimes we felt like herded cattle and sometimes our time was limited but we found places we would love to go spend a few months and learn more about the people and culture. Fifteen days was not long enough and yet it was too long to be away from home. I missed my dogs, my bed, and my friends and family.

It’s so good to be home but I’ll miss the food and our new friends!

4 responses to “Tales from the River – Traveling, Oct 14, 2011

  1. I’m so glad you had a great time but it’s wonderful to have you back…I missed you both terribly!!!

  2. I’ve really enjoyed reading your travel tales, Kay. I felt as though I was travelling with you. x

  3. We had a totally wonderful time! I’m so glad you enjoyed reading about it. Many people were fighting getting a cold and Ed was one of them. I waited until the flight before it hit and by then, I was just too beat to fight it, so I’ve been doing a lot of sleeping and taking cold meds since then. Hopefully, tomorrow will be better since I went to the doc today. Then I can start washing clothes, calling my friends to catch up with what’s happened at home, and go check the Meadows Building and make sure it’s still standing! Hmmm, maybe I need another vacation!!!

  4. I just got to read the rest of your travels. I agree with Helen – I felt like I was traveling with you and Ed. Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us. I hope you and Ed are recovering from your cold. And good luck buying good sheets – that fit – at a reasonable price.

    Love ya