I’ve been here …

Ed: “Hey, do you want to go to town and have lunch and run some errands?”

Kay: “Nope, not really.”

Ed: “Sheesh! You just don’t like getting out of the house anymore, do you???”

 

I think I’m still recouping from the traveling we’ve been doing his year. Yes, I think Ed believes that I’m becoming a recluse but I’m starting to think that Ed is a gadabout! I don’t mind getting out of the house, just not every day! Well, it would be a lot easier if I didn’t have to put makeup on … and do something with my hair … oh, and decide on something decent to wear in public … uh, and put on shoes … and getting mentally prepared for people! Yeah, I thoroughly enjoy bumming around in my lounge jeans and knit top, barefoot, no makeup, hair pulled back in a hair-tie or with a headband, lying in bed watching the news and snuggling with my little SoLow. What could ever be better than that???

And I apologize for not writing sooner but I really think I wrote myself out while on the European trip. Since then, we’ve driven down to Orange, Texas. We met this wonderful couple on the trip from Washington, Pat and Sandy. They were so much fun on the trip and we vowed to stay in touch after we returned. Sandy was originally from Orange and she had a memorial for her mother after she passed away. Since my mom had passed away not long ago, I really wanted to go and just be there for Sandy. We had to return right after the service but at least we got to have dinner the night before with them and really talk. I so wish we could’ve stayed longer but we really needed to get back. I’m just glad we got to spend some time with them. It was good for me to be there.

After Thanksgiving, we will be driving to Fort Stockton to see Drake. Eight hours each way! We are NOT looking forward to the drive but we are definitely looking forward to seeing Drake. We talk to him almost daily but it’s just not the same as seeing him in person.

The holidays are coming up. Are you ready for them? I’m not. It’s easier this year than last year but I know I will still miss Nonnie and Drake. At least I’m thinking about decorating for Christmas. I may put up nothing more than my little winter miniature village but that will be so much more than what I did last year. Hey, maybe that’s it? Maybe I’m started to go into a blue funk over the holidays. It’s just not the same without children and grandparents in the same house. I know I treat SoLow like my child but she just doesn’t give hugs like a human does. That will change in the future but not this year. I think, this year, we will take the holidays easy and just enjoy being together. I hope you have an enjoyable and loving holiday season also.

Comments are closed.