Happy Thanksgiving, y’all!

I was looking back at my Thanksgiving blog last year and I have decided that I still agree with what I wrote. In synopsis, I am thankful for my family, my friends, my good health, a great life, and the opportunity to live in the United States. Along with the freedoms I have enjoyed by living here, I also have the responsibility of passing those freedoms and responsibilities along to my kids. Here is the link if you want to go back and read it again. What should we be thankful for?

This year, I had the freedom to retire from HP and, yes, I’m thankful for that. No more traveling unless I want to and we did travel a few times this year. On our trip to Europe, I remembered exactly why I am thankful and why I prefer driving to flying.

I am thankful for good tenants in Nonnie’s Meadows Building. They have become friends much more than tenants. I now get a massage (Linda) and my hair (Robin) and nails (Tamara) done, all in one building. And PLEASE keep me out of that Trading Post (Jan)! I find something I want every time I go in that place or, worse, I find something that we got when we got married and it’s now an antique or a collectible! That just bites.

Afterward I pamper myself at the Meadows Building, I can go across the street to the old bank building and have a fabulous lunch. I enjoy going in there just to look at the old bank vault, which still exists, but also to see an old school chum, Amy. I took Ed there once and he loved it. Now he goes back by himself when he wants a light lunch. You KNOW it has to be good if he goes in when I’m not dragging him there!

I am very thankful for Ken, my handyman. He keeps my life … I started to say simple but that’s not it. He keeps my life running smoothly and my life wouldn’t be as good without him. When we got back from Europe, I asked how he was doing. He said he was ready for some salad. You see, he’s a plumber by trade. Yet he can actually do most anything I throw at him and I’ve been known to throw quite a bit at him, from adding a light fixture, to pulling up mesquite trees, to building a ramp, to staining furniture, to building one hell of a fence, to … you get the idea, I’m sure! After 3 weeks of plumbing, I think he was ready for the potpourri of MY projects, his “salad” work. Again, he’s turned into more of a friend and I am grateful to have him in my life.

I’m also grateful to the members of my Good Ol’ Girls’ Club, who keep me sane and give me unconditional love. I anticipate every meeting and the few hours that we can be ourselves, with all the winkles, fat, grey hair, and un-political correctness! What a wonderful group of women! I am honored to call them my friends. I am grateful they are also my family.

My kids. Where do I start? I am so thankful that we have 3 great kids. I am very glad they are so lovable and very thankful that all 3 of them love and respect me. Sometimes they even listen to me; not all of them all of the time, you understand, but you can’t have everything! Seriously, they are great kids and I do love them dearly. When they finally grow up, I look forward to them taking care of me in my old age and putting up with my mouthy comments. I’m going to have so much fun at that point!

I notice that the majority of what I am thankful for are the people in my life and that’s the way it should be, I think. Everything else is gravy. There are many more people in my life but I just don’t have the room to mention them all here; my aunt Marilyn and uncle Reis; my cousin Charlie, his wife Mary, and their daughters Sarah and Rachel; my adopted daughter Misty; and the myriad of friends I have made through my travels and jobs. It’s the people who count in your life who give your life substance.

Thank you, friends and family, for being there for me, especially the last few years. I have needed you all and, even though I might not talk to you often enough, you are in my thoughts every day and in my heart constantly. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, no matter where you are in the world. Even if this is not your “holiday,” take the time to be thankful for all of the people in your life and tell them so whenever the opportunity arises. Don’t wait until you can’t see the totally shocked look on their face to remind them that you love them. I love you all.

Comments are closed.