A Wagon Train in Argyle

I went down this morning to get my bi-weekly massage (Thank you, Linda!!!)  and her next appointment showed up a little early.  In the middle of my massage, there was a knock on the door. He was obviously a new customer and didn’t realize that he needed to wait until at least 30 minutes before his massage to interrupt.  It was actually a little funny.

Anyway, when I emerged at 11:10, he started talking about the wagon train coming down Highway 377.  I didn’t realize that every year a small wagon train came through Argyle on their way to the Fort Worth Stock Show, but there it was, coming toward us on the highway shoulder, cars whizzing past, and cowboys riding their horses alongside in the grass.

We stood on the front porch of the Meadows Building and watched them go past.  Jan and Mister Ed of Mister Ed’s Trading Post even came out, waving American and Texas flags and taking pictures.

It reminded me of what we used to do when I was a kid.  We would sit outside on concrete benches and watch the traffic go by, waving at people we knew, waving at train engineers, and just talking.  We don’t do that anymore.  Traffic just goes too fast.  There are way too many people who drive by that we don’t know anymore, even if traffic was going a little slower.  Life just moves too fast nowadays.  And we are just a small bump on the road between Denton and other southern communities; just passing scenery for people commuting to work or back home.  What a shame.

But I did take pictures, even getting a few shots of the man waiting for a massage.  I have to tell you, I would never have picked him for a massage!  Enjoy!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “A Wagon Train in Argyle

  1. Love this!!! Wish I could have seen it in person. Probably good thing I didn’t…would have bummed a ride with no thought of how I might get home from the Stock Show. LOL